ECHL All-Star Game

By Parker Neale

The 2001 ECHL All-Star Game will take place this Tuesday, February 13th in Little Rock, Arkansas. It is the third straight year that the game will be showcased on a national television broadcast as ESPN2 is picking up the coverage. Once again, the Northern Conference all-stars are pitted against their counterparts from the south.

In terms of the starting line-up for the Northern Conference, the attack is led by Kevin Hilton. The Charlotte forward has tallied 66 points in 51 games thus far. Also up front are Scott Bertoli and Cail Maclean of Trenton. Both these Titans players have been consistent all season, notching 39 and 32 points, respectively. On defence are Calvin Elfring of Roanoke and Tom Nemeth of Dayton. Elfring has contributed 35 points and 48 penalty minutes in 50 games while Nemeth has been stellar on the offence, with 43 points in 48 games. And, in goal is Scott Stirling, who is having a sensational campaign for Trenton, with 20 wins, a 2.10 GAA and a 0.924 save percentage in 30 games.

The Southern Conference has a powerful offensive attack with Dany Bousquet of Pee Dee, Brent Cullaton of Tallahassee and Matt Demarski of Florida leading the charge. Bousquet has 32 goals in 43 games, Cullaton has dominated with 68 points in 44 games and Demarski is on a point-a-game clip with 47 in 46 games. On defence are Trevor Demmans of Pee Dee and Chris Valicevic of Louisiana. Both these defenders have been steady at both ends of the ice and have recorded 36 and 40 points, respectively. In net for the south is Kirk Daubenspeck of South Carolina. The big goaltender has 22 wins, a 2.58 GAA and a 0.917 save percentage in 34 games this season.

The rest of the players taking part in the contest are as follows:

Northern Conference

Joe Blaznek		Richmond
Darren Clark		Peoria
Joel Irwin		Greensboro
Ben Keup		Dayton
Scott King		Charlotte
James Patterson	        Toledo
Richard Pitirri		Richmond
Eric Schneider		Johnstown
Andrew Williamson	Toledo
Justin Harney		Charlotte
Jamie Sokolsky	        Greensboro
Jeff Sproat		Roanoke
Mike Vellinga		Johnstown
Kenric Exner		Peoria
Joel Laing		Wheeling

Southern Conference

Martin Bartek		New Orleans
Jeff Bes		Pensacola
Cody Bowtell		Mississippi
Aaron Brand		Arkansas
Andrew Long		Tallahassee
Eduard Pershin	        Birmingham
Bobby Russell		Jackson
Jason Sessa		South Carolina
Jonas Soling		Augusta
Likit Andersson	        Augusta
Vratislav Cech		Greenville
Eric Long		Arkansas
Dave Van Drunen	        Mobile
Brian Leitza		Baton Rouge
Jason Saal		Louisiana

Related Articles

Win a PlayStation 4 + a copy of NHL 16 from GameRevolution and Hockey's Future! Complete one or more of the action... in Contests on LockerDome