WHL Announces 2006-07 Award Winners

By League Press Release

Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced the 2006-07 winners of the annual WHL Awards presented Wednesday, May 2nd at the WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary.

WHL Player of the Year – Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Kris Russell (Caroline, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers

WHL Rookie of the Year – Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Kyle Beach (Kelowna, BC), Everett Silvertips

WHL Goaltender of the Year – Del Wilson Trophy

Carey Price (Williams Lake, BC), Tri-City Americans

WHL Defenceman of the Year – Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Kris Russell (Caroline, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year – Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy

Keith Aulie (Rouleau, SK), Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Scholastic Team of the Year

Kamloops Blazers

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year – Brad Hornung Trophy

Aaron Gagnon (Armstrong, BC), Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Humanitarian of the Year – Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Kyle Moir (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos

WHL Coach of the Year – Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Cory Clouston (Viking, AB), Kootenay Ice

WHL Executive of the Year – Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Bob Tory (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Marketing & Communications Award

Bruce Vance, Prince Albert Raiders Marketing

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy

Zach Hamill (Port Coquitlam, BC), Everett Silvertips

WHL Top Official – Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy

Andy Thiessen

WHL Regular Season Champions – Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Everett Silvertips