Doughty named OHL Defenceman of the Year

By League Press Release

The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Drew Doughty of the Guelph Storm has won the Max Kaminsky Trophy as the OHL‘s Most Outstanding Defenceman for the 2007-08 season.

Doughty, an 18-year-old native of London, ON, scored 13 goals and 37 assists for 50 points in 58 games this season with the Storm. Doughty also helped Team Canada win the gold medal at the World Junior Championships and participated in the ADT Canada-Russia Challenge in November, the Home Hardware CHL-NHL Top Prospects Game in January and the OHL All-Star Classic in February.

Doughty, the fifth overall pick in the 2005 OHL Priority Selection, is a top rated prospect for the 2008 NHL Entry Draft. In the OHL Coaches Poll, Doughty finished first in voting as the Best Offensive Defenceman category and second in the Best Defensive Defenceman category for the Western Conference.

The Max Kaminsky Trophy is awarded each year to the Most Outstanding Defenceman as selected by OHL general managers. Teams were not permitted to vote for their own nominee. Players received five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

Doughty received 58 points in the voting process, while Zach Bogosian of the Peterborough Petes and Bobby Sanguinetti of the Brampton Battalion tied for second with 44 points each.

Last year’s winner of the Max Kaminsky Trophy was Marc Staal of the Sudbury Wolves, who is currently competing in the Stanley Cup playoffs with the New York Rangers. Other past winners include Denis Potvin (Ottawa 1971-72 and 1972-73), Al MacInnis (Kitchener 1982-83), Chris Pronger (Peterborough 1992-93) and Bryan Berard (Detroit 1994-95 and 1995-96).

The award is named in recognition of Max Kaminsky, who enjoyed a 10-year professional playing career that included four years in the NHL with Ottawa, Boston, and Montreal. After he retired from playing, Kaminsky enjoyed a 15-year coaching career that was capped by winning the Memorial Cup with the St. Catherine’s Teepees in 1960.

Doughty will be formally presented with the Max Kaminsky Trophy during the 2007-08 OHL Awards Ceremony, which will be held on Wednesday June 4 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.