Gaudreau, Dowd head 2013-14 All-American selections

By DJ Powers

Mike Reilly - University of Minnesota

Photo: University of Minnesota defenseman and Columbus Blue Jackets prospect Mike Reilly turned in a season worthy of an All-American selection, and he and his Golden Gophers teammates will try to land a national championship at the Frozen Four on Saturday night (courtesy of Richard T Gagnon/Getty Images)

The 2013-14 American College Hockey Coaches Association CCM All-American Teams were announced on Friday in Philadelphia, PA. Of the 25 players, 18 are NHL-drafted and three are recent NHL free agent signees.

Heading the group of All-First Team selections is Boston College junior Johnny Gaudreau (CGY) and UMass-Lowell sophomore goaltender Connor Hellebuyck (WPG). Gaudreau was named the recipient of the 2014 Hobey Baker Award, while Hellebuyck was named the recipient of the inaugural Mike Richter Award. This marks the second consecutive year that Gaudreau was named to the All-America East First Team.

Joining Gaudreau and Hellebuyck on the All-East First Team are Gaudreau’s linemate, senior Kevin Hayes (CHI), St. Lawrence senior Greg Carey (PHX), and a pair of Union College defensemen, junior Shayne Gostisbehere (PHI) and senior Mat Bodie. Both Carey and Gostisbehere were All-America East Second Team selections last year.

Hobey Hat Trick finalist and St. Cloud State senior Nic Dowd (LAK) heads the group of All-America West First Team selections. Joining Dowd are Denver senior goaltender Sam Brittain (FLA), Wisconsin junior defenseman Jake McCabe (BUF), Minnesota sophomore defenseman Mike Reilly (CBJ), Nebraska-Omaha junior Josh Archibald (PIT) and Ohio State junior Ryan Dzingel (OTT).

Maine sophomore forward Devin Shore (DAL) and sophomore defenseman Ben Hutton (VAN) head the group of All-America East Second Team selections. Joining Shore and Hutton on the All-East Second Team are Boston College sophomore defenseman Michael Matheson (FLA), RPI junior Ryan Haggerty (NYR), Union College senior Daniel Carr and junior goaltender Colin Stevens.

Alaska senior and WCHA Player of the Year Cody Kunyk (TBL) heads the list of All-America West Second Team selections. Kunyk’s teammate, sophomore defenseman Colton Parayko (STL) was also named to the All-West Second Team. Rounding out the group of All-West Second Team selections are Minnesota sophomore goaltender Adam Wilcox (TBL) and junior forward Kyle Rau (FLA), Denver sophomore defenseman Joey LaLeggia (EDM), Wisconsin senior Michael Mersch (LAK) and Miami junior Austin Czarnik, who was an All-America West First Team selection last year.

A number of the aforementioned players have already signed with the NHL teams that drafted them, including Carey, Haggerty and Kunyk, who are all recent NHL free agent signees.

Follow DJ Powers on Twitter via @DJPowersHF