Canadian National Junior Team Roster Announced

By League Press Release

21 Canadian Hockey League stars will help Canada in its quest for a fifth straight gold medal at the World Junior Championships.

Hockey Canada and the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) announced on Monday the 22 players that will make up Canada’s National Junior Team for the upcoming 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship in Ottawa, from December 26, 2008 – January 5, 2009.

Canada’s National Junior Team includes four players (Zach Boychuk of the lethbridge Hurricanes, Thomas Hickey of the Seattle Thunderbirds, P.K. Subban of the Belleville Bulls and John Tavares of the Oshawa Generals) who won gold medals at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship. 

Eighteen of the players have previous international experience, including 12 players who played with Canada’s National Under-18 Team and 18 who played with Canadian regional Under-17 teams at either the World Under-17 Challenge or the Canada Winter Games.

Twenty of the players named to the final roster were drafted in either the 2007 or 2008 NHL Entry Draft, including 10 first-round selections and four second-round selections. Two players are eligible for the 2009 NHL Entry Draft.

Canada will play its first game of the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship on Boxing Day, December 26th versus the Czech Republic.

TSN, TSN HD and, along with RDS, RDS HD and have live coverage of the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship, airing December 26 to January 5 from Ottawa.

Team Canada games will also be broadcast LIVE on the FAN radio network (check local listings).

Canada has medaled in 10-straight World Junior Championships including: gold medal performances in 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2005, silver medals in 2004, 2003, 2002, 1999 and bronze medals in 2001 and 2000. 

For more information on the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship, or Canada’s National Junior Team, visit Hockey Canada’s official website

Canadian National Junior Team Roster

Chet Pickard, Tri-City (WHL)
Dustin Tokarski, Spokane (WHL) 

Keith Aulie, Brandon (WHL) 
Ryan Ellis, Windsor (OHL
Cody Goloubef, Wisconsin (WCHA) 
Thomas Hickey, Seattle (WHL) 
Tyler Myers, Kelowna (WHL) 
Alex Pietrangelo, Niagara (OHL) 
PK Subban, Belleville (OHL) 
Colten Teubert, Regina (WHL) 

Jamie Benn, Kelowna (WHL) 
Zach Boychuk, Lethbridge (WHL) 
Patrice Cormier, Rimouski (QMJHL
Stefan Della Rovere, Barrie (OHL) 
Chris DiDomenico, Saint John (QMJHL) 
Jordan Eberle, Regina (WHL) 
Tyler Ennis, Medicine Hat (WHL) 
Angelo Esposito, Montreal (QMJHL) 
Cody Hodgson, Brampton (OHL) 
Brett Sonne, Calgary (WHL) 
John Tavares, Oshawa (OHL) 
Dana Tyrell, Prince George (WHL)