USHL Announces 2009 Prospects/All-Star Game

By League Press Release

The United States Hockey League is pleased to announce the rosters for the 2009 USHL Prospects/All-Star Game, to be hosted by the Sioux Falls Stampede on Wednesday, February 4, 2009.

The teams were chosen by division, with one team representing the East Division and the other team representing the West Division.  Each team will consist of 20 players – two goaltenders, six defensemen and 12 forwards.

"We think that we have a wonderful group of players selected to take part in this event," said USHL Executive Vice President Gino Gasparini.  "Combine the talent pool with the fact that the Sioux Falls Stampede have been working diligently at making this memorable for all those involved and it should be a great couple of days for these young men and the USHL."

Players were chosen for the rosters by a vote of the league’s coaches.  Coaches are not allowed to vote for players that are on their rosters.

There is at least one player from every team participating.  Four teams – Cedar Rapids, Chicago, Indiana and Lincoln have five players playing in the game.  Fargo and Omaha have four players apiece taking part.  The host Sioux Falls Stampede will have three players in the game.  The West Division will be the home team and will wear white sweaters.

"There is a deep talent pool in the USHL this year and we’re excited to see those that were chosen as the best of the group take part," Gasparini said.  "The last two years we have had good, hard-fought hockey games and the hope is that this group lives up to that and provides us with another great night of hockey."

East Division

Mike Johnson – Cedar Rapids
Brett Bennett – Indiana

Matt Donovan – Cedar Rapids
John Moore – Chicago
Max Nicastro – Chicago
Phil Samuelsson – Chicago
David Makowski – Green Bay
Joe Hartman – Indiana

Mike Seidel – Cedar Rapids
Jeff Costello – Cedar Rapids
Kyle Flanagan – Cedar Rapids
Andrew Miller – Chicago
Eric Alexander – Chicago
Alex Chiasson – Des Moines
Reed Seckel – Green Bay
Stanislav Galiev – Indiana
Brandon Richardson – Indiana
Shane Berschbach – Indiana
Craig Smith – Waterloo
Nick Larson – Waterloo

West Division

Mike Lee – Fargo
Kevin Murdock – Lincoln

Luke Witkowski – Fargo
Jake Newton – Lincoln
Mike Dalhuisen – Lincoln
Seth Helgeson – Sioux City
Max Grover – Sioux Falls
Blake Thompson – Sioux Falls

Keegan Flaherty – Fargo
Josh Birkholz – Fargo
Kirt Hill – Lincoln
David Gerths – Lincoln
Pat Mullane – Omaha
Danny Kristo – Omaha
Louis Leblanc – Omaha
Ryan Daugherty – Omaha
Stephane Da Costa – Sioux City
Justin Daniels – Sioux City
David Eddy – Sioux Falls
Mike Cichy – Tri-City

Last season, the East Division All-Stars needed a shootout to get past the West Division 6-5 in the game played in Green Bay, Wis.  Waterloo forward Nick Larson is the only player in this year’s game that also played last season.

The coaches and game officials for the game will be announced in the coming days.

Tickets for the USHL Prospects/All-Star Game and the accompanying banquet are on sale now.  You can purchase tickets by contacting the Stampede at (605) 336-6060 or by visiting them on the web at

The USHL is celebrating its 30th season of junior hockey in 2008-09.  With over 140 players already committed to NCAA Division I schools and 16 NHL Draft picks playing in the league, the USHL is the nation’s foremost producer of junior hockey talent.  For more information, visit us on the web at