WHL Announces 2008-09 Conference All-Star Teams and Award Finalists

By League Press Release

Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today the 2008-09 WHL Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Conference Finalists for the 2008-09 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009. 

The WHL Eastern and Western Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – Braden Holtby (Marshall, SK), Saskatoon Blades *
Defenceman – Paul Postma (Red Deer, AB), Calgary Hitmen *
Defenceman – Keith Aulie (Rouleau, SK), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Brett Sonne (Maple Ridge, BC), Calgary Hitmen *
Forward – Brandon Kozun (Calgary, AB), Calgary Hitmen
Forward – Tyler Ennis (Edmonton, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers

Goaltender – Martin Jones (North Vancouver, BC), Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman – Michael Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Calgary Hitmen

Defenceman – John Negrin (West Vancouver, BC), Swift Current Broncos
Forward – Joel Broda (Prince Albert, SK), Calgary Hitmen
Forward – Justin Bernhardt (Yorkton, SK), Prince Albert Raiders
Forward – Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, SK), Brandon Wheat Kings

Goaltender – Chet Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans
Defenceman – Jonathon Blum (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA), Vancouver Giants *
Defenceman – Thomas Hickey (Calgary, AB), Seattle Thunderbirds
Forward – Casey Pierro-Zabotel (Kamloops, BC), Vancouver Giants *
Forward – Jamie Benn (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets      
Forward – Evander Kane (Vancouver, BC), Vancouver Giants

Goaltender – Dustin Tokarski (Watson, SK), Spokane Chiefs
Defenceman – Tyler Myers (
DeWinton, AB), Kelowna Rockets
Defenceman – Brent Regner (Newbrook, AB), Vancouver Giants      

Forward – Drayson Bowman (Littleton, CO), Spokane Chiefs
Forward – Colin Long (Santa Ana, CA), Kelowna Rockets
Forward – Taylor Procyshen (Emerald Park, SK), Tri-City Americans

*   indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the Award Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Jordan Weal (North Vancouver, BC), Regina Pats
Western Conference – Brett Connolly (Prince George, BC), Prince George Cougars

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Braden Holtby (Marshall, SK), Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Chet Pickard (Winnipeg, MB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Paul Postma (Red Deer, AB), Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Jonathon Blum (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA) Vancouver, BC
WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tyler Ennis (Edmonton, AB) Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Colin Long (Santa Ana, CA), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy
Eastern Conference – Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC) Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Tyler Maxwell (Manhattan Beach, CA) Everett Silvertips

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Don Hay, Vancouver Giants

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Scott Bonner, Vancouver Giants
WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Calgary Hitmen:   GP – 72          W – 59     L – 9      OTL – 3      SL – 1    Pts – 122
WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Casey Pierro-Zabotel – (Kamloops, BC) Vancouver Giants
GP – 72                        G – 36              A – 79               Pts – 115                      PIM – 52
The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2008-09 WHL Awards Luncheon in Edmonton, Alberta on Wednesday, April 29th, 2009.