WHL Announces 2009-10 Eastern Conference All-Star Teams and Award Finalists

By League Press Release
Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today the 2009-10 WHL Eastern Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Eastern Conference Finalists for the 2009-10 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 14th, 2010.
The WHL Eastern Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:

Goaltender – Martin Jones (North Vancouver, BC), Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman – Michael Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman – Brayden McNabb (Davidson, SK), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Jordan Eberle (Regina, SK), Regina Pats *
Forward – Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, SK), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Brandon Kozun (Calgary, AB), Calgary Hitmen
Goaltender – Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Travis Hamonic (St. Malo, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Defenceman – Colby Robak (Gilbert Plains, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Dustin Sylvester (Kelowna, BC), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Matt Calvert (Brandon, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Cody Eakin (Winnipeg, MB), Swift Current Broncos
*   indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the Eastern Conference Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Burnaby, BC), Red Deer Rebels
WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Martin Jones (North Vancouver, BC), Calgary Hitmen
WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Michael Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Calgary Hitmen
WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Jason Bast (Moose Jaw, SK) Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy
Eastern Conference – Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB) Swift Current Broncos

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Mark Holick, Kootenay Ice

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Matt Fraser (Red Deer, AB) Kootenay Ice

WHL Marketing / Public Relations Award
Eastern Conference – Brandon Wheat Kings, Rick Dillabough

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Calgary Hitmen:   GP – 72          W – 52     L – 17      OTL – 1      SL – 2 Pts – 107
WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Brandon Kozun – (Calgary, AB) Calgary Hitmen
GP – 65                        G – 32              A – 75               Pts – 107                      PIM – 50

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2010 WHL Awards Luncheon in Edmonton, Alberta on Wednesday, April 28th, 2010.

The WHL will announce the Western Conference All-Stars and Awards Finalists tomorrow Thursday, March 18th