21 CHL Players Named to Canada’s Under-18 Team

By League Press Release

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Tuesday the 22 players who will represent Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team at the 2010 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament, August 9-14 in Breclav, Czech Republic and Piestany, Slovakia.
21 of the 22 players named to the roster competed in the CHL last season, with forward Lucas Lessio committed to the Oshawa Generals for 2010-11.
CHL Players on Team Canada:
Robin Gusse, Chicoutimi Sagueneens
Tyson Teichmann, Belleville Bulls
Myles Bell, Regina Pats
Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs
Scott Harrington, London Knights
Ryan Murray, Everett Silvertips
Xavier Ouellet, Montreal Juniors
Stuart Percy, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Duncan Siemens, Saskatoon Blades
Austen Brassard, Belleville Bulls
David Broll, Erie Otters
Daniel Catenacci, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
Michael Curtis, Belleville Bulls
Phillip Danault, Victoriaville Tigres
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John Sea Dogs
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals
Garrett Meurs, Plymouth Whalers
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Red Deer Rebels
Matt Puempel, Peterborough Petes
Alan Quine, Kingston Frontenacs
Brett Ritchie, Sarnia Sting
The roster was finalized Tuesday following Hockey Canada’s four-day selection camp at Father David Bauer Olympic Arena in Calgary. The camp included daily practices and three Red-White intersquad games.
Canada’s roster is made up of 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders. Head coach George Burnett (Port Perry, Ont./Belleville, OHL) assembled the roster with support from assistant coaches Ron Choules (Montreal, Que./Acadie-Bathurst, QMJHL) and Jim Hiller (Nelson, B.C./Tri-City, WHL), Al Murray, Hockey Canada’s head scout for the men’s Program of Excellence, and Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations/national teams.
“It was a very competitive camp, and choosing these 22 players was by no means an easy task,” said Burnett. “All of the players named today have earned their spot on the roster, and we look forward to getting to Europe and defending Canada’s gold medal.”
Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team breakdown:
2 goaltenders, 7 defencemen, 13 forwards
21 players from the Canadian Hockey League
13 players from the Ontario Hockey League
4 players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League
4 players from the Western Hockey League
1 player from the Central Canadian Hockey League
20 players with experience in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence
Canada has won the Memorial of Ivan Hlinka in five of the past six years, and will play in Group B with Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland, a group that will be based out of Piestany. Group A, which consists of the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia and the United States, will play out of Breclav.
Canada will face the Czech Republic in an exhibition game in Breclav on Saturday, August 7 before opening the tournament against Sweden on Monday, August 9. The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals on Friday, August 13, with the gold medal game scheduled for Saturday, August 14.
There will be no TV or radio coverage of the event. Hockey Canada’s official website, www.hockeycanada.ca, is the place to find complete coverage of Canada at the tournament.
For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca.