Rosters announced for World Junior A Challenge

By League Press Release

Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), announced Tuesday the rosters of the four international teams competing in the 2010 World Junior A Challenge, November 8-14 at the South Okanagan Events Centre in Penticton, BC.

Teams from Russia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States will join Canada West and Canada East at the six-team tournament. Canada East, the United States and Sweden will play in Pool A, while Canada West, Russia and the Switzerland will comprise Pool B.


The International Rosters include:

Seven (7) players who took part in the 2009 World Junior A Challenge:
Sweden (4) – Bäckman, Gunnarsson, Nordström, Ottosson
United States (3) – Mattson, St. Clair, Parks

Eight (8) players drafted in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft (team, round, overall):
Sweden (2) – Nordström (CHI, 3, 90); Sörenson (OTT, 4, 106)
United States (6) – Gaede (SJ, 3, 88); Mullin (TB, 4, 118); Herbert (WSH, 5, 142); Parks (PHI, 5, 149); Gothberg (BOS, 6, 165); Mattson (CHI, 6, 180)

Four (4) players who took part in the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship:
Switzerland (4) – Camperchioli, McGregor, Schappi, Scherwey

Seventeen (17) players who took part in the 2010 IIHF World Under-18 Championship:
Sweden (5) – Granlund, Gunnarsson, Nordström, Ottosson, Thorell
Switzerland (8) – Guerra, Haas, Hofmann, Kukan, Kuonen, Meili, Saikkonen, Vermin
Russia (3) – Nesterov, Shalunov, Yarullin
United States (1) – Czarnik

Thirteen (13) players who took part in the 2010 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge:
Sweden (1) – Ryan
Russia (11) – Demakov, Grigorenko, Ivanyuzhenkov, Konkov, Sabinin, Saveliev, Shalunov, Shamin, Vasilevskiy, Vorshev, Yarullin
United States (1) – Schmaltz

Two (2) players ranked in the top 20 for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft by International Scouting Services:
Russia (1) – Shalunov (16th)
United States (1) – Ambroz (12th)

Sweden and the United States will join Canada East in Group A at the 2010 World Junior Challenge, while Russia and Switzerland will play in Group B along with Canada West. Round-robin play will run until Thursday, November 10, with both semifinals taking place on Saturday, November 13. The gold medal game, which will be shown nationally on TSN/RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada, is set for Sunday, November 14 (check your local listings for broadcast times).