Team Russia Roster Announced for 2010 Super Series

By League Press Release

Photo: Los Angeles Kings prospect Maxim Kitsyn will take part in the 2010 Super Series (photo courtesy of Holly Gunning/HF)

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the roster for Team Russia that will compete in the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series which begins Monday November 8 in Saint John, NB.

Seven Russian players return from last year’s SUBWAY® Super Series team including Maxim Kitsyn who led the event with four goals in six games before competing with Russia at the 2010 World Junior Championship.  He was later selected in the sixth round of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft by the Los Angeles Kings.  This year’s team also features CHL goaltender Igor Bobkov of the London Knights who competed last year and was named Player of the Game twice, and forward Ivan Telegin of the Saginaw Spirit who also received Player of the Game honors and was later selected in the fourth round of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft by the Atlanta Thrashers

A total of seven current CHL players will compete in various games of the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series for Team Russia in addition to Bobkov and Telegin.  Stanislav Galiev of the game one host Saint John Sea Dogs will compete in both QMJHL games alongside Artem Sergeyev of the Val d’Or Foreurs.  Galiev was selected in the third round of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft by the Washington Capitals with Sergeyev eligible for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.  Other 2011 prospects competing in the London game three contest includes defenceman Andrey Pedan of the Guelph Storm, and Vladislav Namestnikov of the host  Knights.  2012 prospect and top OHL scorer Nail Yakupov of the Sarnia Sting will also compete in London.

Team Russia is led behind the bench by Head Coach Valery Bragin who returns to the Under-20 program for the first time since the 2005 World Junior Championship in Grand Forks, North Dakota, when Russia captured silver with a team that included Alexander Ovechkin and Evgeni Malkin.

Team Russia (Club):

*Competed in the 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series

Stanislav Bocharov (Ak Bars, Kazan)
Anton Burdasov (Traktor, Chelyabinsk)*
Nikita Dvurechensky (OHK Dynamo)
Denis Golubev (Ak Bars, Kazan)*
Sergey Kalinin (Avangard, Omsk)
Maxim Kitsyn (Metallurg, Novokuznetsk)*
Alexey Kruchinin (VMF, Sankt-Peterburg)
Vladimir Malinovskiy (Metallurg, Magnitogorsk)
Artemiy Panarin (Vityaz, Chekhov)
Daniil Sobchenko (Lokomotiv, Yaroslavl)
Artem Voronin (Spartak, Moscow)
Pavel Zdunov (Metallurg, Magnitogorsk)

Zakhar Arzamastsev (Metallurg, Novokuznetsk)
Georgy Berdyukov (SKA, Sankt-Petersburg)*
Maxim Berezin (Neftekhimik, Nizhnekamsk)
Mikhail Grigoryev (Ak Bars, Kazan)
Maxim Ignatovich (Sibir, Novosibirsk)
Nikita Pivtsakin (Avangard, Omsk)*
Andrey Sergeev (Neftekhimik, Nizhnekamsk)
Yuri Urychev (Lokomotiv, Yaroslavl)

Emil Garipov (Neftyanik, Almetyevsk)
Dmitry Shikin (Amur, Khabarovsk)

QMJHL Games:
Stanislav Galiev (Saint John Sea Dogs)
Artem Sergeyev (Val d’Or Foreurs)

OHL Games:
Igor Bobkov (London Knights)*

London Game Only:
Vladislav Namestnikov (London Knights)
Andrey Pedan (Guelph Storm)
Nail Yakupov (Sarnia Sting)

Sudbury Game Only:
Ivan Telegin (Saginaw Spirit)*

Head Coach – Valery Bragin
Assistant Coach – Yury Novikov
Assistant Coach – Anatoly Bukatin
General Manager – Alexey Kochetkov
Doctor – Alexander Borodin
Physiotherapist – Artem Timofeev
Equipment Manager – Alexander Rezepov

Eight Russian players from the 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series went on to compete in Saskatoon and Regina, SK, for Team Russia at the 2010 World Junior Championship including Alexander Burmistrov of the Barrie Colts who was selected eighth overall in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. 
The 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series will take place November 8 – 18 and marks the eighth straight year that teams of CHL All-Stars have competed against Team Russia in preparation for the World Junior Hockey Championships.  The SUBWAY® Super Series is an integral part of the evaluation process prior to Team Canada’s final selection camp in December.  This season, Canada will be competing for their 13th straight medal at the 2011 tournament in Buffalo, NY.

The 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series is supported by CHL associate sponsors, Bank of Montreal and CCM.  All games will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet with the two QMJHL games shown on RDS.

2010 SUBWAY® Super Series Schedule of Games:
 Game 1 – Monday November 8 at Saint John, NB
Game 2 – Wednesday November 10 at Drummondville, QC
Game 3 – Thursday November 11 at London, ON
Game 4 – Monday November 15 at Sudbury, ON
Game 5 – Wednesday November 17 at Kamloops, BC
Game 6 – Thursday November 18 at Prince George, BC