Ekblad tops 2011 OHL Priority Selection

By League Press Release

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today conducted the 2011 OHL Priority Selection presented by State Farm for players born between January 1, 1992, and December 31, 1995.

302 players were selected including 166 forwards, 103 defencemen, and 33 goaltenders. Players were chosen from 91 different teams with the Ontario Minor Hockey Association leading the way with 95 players selected from 23 different teams including 10 from the York Simcoe Express.

The Greater Toronto Hockey League had 70 players selected from 11 different teams including a draft-high 13 from the OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Champion Toronto Marlboros, while the Don Mills Flyers who finished second in the OHL Cup had 12 players selected. 49 players were chosen from 32 different programs based in the United States including eight players from Detroit Honeybaked. 46 players were selected from 11 different teams from the ALLIANCE led by their league champion Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs with 10. 23 players were selected from five different teams in the Ottawa District Minor Hockey Association including six from each of the Ottawa Senators and the Ottawa Valley Titans. In the Northern Ontario Hockey Association, 11 players were chosen from three different teams including six from the Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves. The Thunder Bay Kings had five players selected from the six in total that represented Hockey Northwestern Ontario, while four other players were chosen from various other hockey programs in Canada. A total of 147 players selected competed in the 2011 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament.

“I would like to extend congratulations to all 302 young men that were drafted in the 2011 OHL Priority Selection,” said OHL Director of Central Scouting and Player Development Rob Kitamura. “Each of these players has the potential to move on to the next level and should be very proud of their minor hockey careers, however being selected today is just the first step as all players need to continue their hard work and dedication to improve, and most importantly continue enjoying the game of hockey. I would also like to wish the best of luck to all players not selected today, and hope for them to continue working hard towards their hockey and academic goals.”

This season marked the 11th straight year the Priority Selection was conducted by way of the internet, and fourth straight year with a live draft show of the first three rounds.

First round results:

1. Barrie Colts – Aaron Ekblad, Sun County Panthers (RD)

2. Peterborough Petes – Nicholas Ritchie, Toronto Marlboros (LW)

3. Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds – Darnell Nurse, Don Mills Flyers (LD)

4. Sarnia Sting – Ryan Kujawinski, Sudbury Minor Midget Wolves (LC)

5. Belleville Bulls – Jordan Subban, Toronto Marlboros (RD)

6. Sudbury Wolves – Nicholas Baptiste, Ottawa Senators (RW)

7. Brampton Battalion – Brandon Robinson, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (LW)

8. Kingston Frontenacs – Max Domi, Don Mills Flyers (LC)

9. London Knights – Bo Horvat, Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs (LC)

10. Guelph Storm – Hunter Garlent, Welland Tigers (RC)

11. Plymouth Whalers – Mitchell Dempsey, Cambridge Hawks (LW)

12. Erie Otters – Stephan Harper, Burlington Eagles (LW)

13. Windsor Spitfires – Jordan Maletta, St. Catharines Falcons (RC)

14. Kitchener Rangers – Brent Pedersen, Waterloo Wolves (LW)

15. Saginaw Spirit – Nick Moutry, York Simcoe Express (LW)

16. Oshawa Generals – Cole Cassels, Ohio Blue Jackets U16 (RC)

17. Ottawa 67’s – David Perklin, Toronto Marlboros (LW)

18. Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors – Spencer Martin, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (G)

19. Niagara IceDogs – Adam Bateman, Don Mills Flyers (LD)

20. Owen Sound Attack – Zack Nastasiuk, Barrie Colts (RW)

21. Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors – Scott Teskey, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (RW)

22. Barrie Colts – Alex Yuill, Quinte Red Devils (LD)