Aeros Increase Goal Scoring Punch

By Andrew Bourgeois
The Houston Aeros have increased their goal-scoring punch, as right wing Greg Pankewicz has re-signed with the Houston Aeros.

Last season, Pankewicz led the Aeros with 22 goals, including a team-high 13 power play goals. He added 19 assists for at total of 41 points in 62 games, fourth on the team in total points. His 134 penalty minutes ranked second only to left wing Greg Walters, who led the team with 192.

Entering his 10th pro season, Pankewicz has played in the National, American, East Coast and International Hockey Leagues. In 1998-99, Pankewicz played in 18 NHL contests with the Calgary Flames, collecting three assists.

That season he also split time between Kentucky and Saint John of the American Hockey League. The Drayton Valley, Alberta native had one of his best seasons as a pro in 1997-98 with the Manitoba Moose, when he scored a career-high 42 goals. For the season, he added 34 assists for 76 points in 76 contests and racked up another career high with 246 penalty minutes.

Pankewicz is the ninth forward to sign with the Houston Aeros for the 2000-01 season. Already on the flight deck are centermen Shawn Carter, Terry Marchant and Brett Harkins, right wingers Alex Vasilevski, Lane Lambert, and Sandy Moger and left wings Bobby Reynolds and Walters. The Aeros have signed two defensemen so far, Barry Dreger and Grant Richison, and have obtained the IHL rights to goaltender Jason Elliott, who is under contract with the Detroit Red Wings (NHL).


Players Signed:
Brett Harkins
Alex Vasilevski
Lane Lambert
Bobby Reynolds
Barry Dreger
Grant Richison
Sandy Moger
Terry Marchant
Shawn Carter
Jason Elliot
Greg Walters
Greg Pankewicz
Brad Williamson
Chris Lipsett
Philippe Plante
Paul Dyck


In 1997-98 Greg Pankewicz lead the Manitoba Moose in penalty minutes with 246.


September 12, 1991 Team Canada defeats Team Sweden 4-0 om semi-final action in the 91 Canada Cup.


In 1948-49 the number players teams are allowed to dress per game increases from 15 to 16, not including goalies.


Chicago: Resign defenceman Chris LiPuma, Bob Nardella and Tom Tilley.

Cincinnati: Sign forward Mikko Sivonen