Defensive award winners in OHL announced

By League Press Release

Photo: Oshawa Generals goaltender Daniel Altshuller posted the best goals-against average among OHL rookie goaltenders (Aaron Bell/OHL Images)

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the recipients of two of the league’s annual awards following the conclusion of the 2011-12 regular season.

The defensive awards include the Dave Pinkney Trophy for the goaltending tandem of the team with the Lowest Goals Against won by Mark Visentin and Christopher Festarini of the Niagara IceDogs, and the F.W “Dinty” Moore Trophy for the Rookie Goalie with the Best Goals-Against-Average won by Daniel Altshuller of the Oshawa Generals.

Dave Pinkney Trophy (Lowest Team Goals Against): Mark Visentin and Christopher Festarini, Niagara IceDogs

For the first time in franchise history the Niagara IceDogs allowed the fewest goals in the OHL with just 169 against in 2011-12.  The tandem of Mark Visentin and Christopher Festarini backstopped the IceDogs to their first Eastern Conference and Central Division title with a 47-18-0-3 record for 97 points.

The Dave Pinkney Trophy is awarded annually to the goaltending tandem from the team that allows the fewest goals against during the regular season.  Last season, the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors earned their second straight Dave Pinkney Trophy allowing just 170 goals against led by JP Anderson and Mikael Audette in goal.  169 goals-against is the lowest in the OHL since the 2004-05 season when the London Knights allowed just 125.  The Niagara Falls Thunder tandem of Nick Ricci and Glen Ernst claimed the award in 1978-79.

Visentin, a 19-year-old from Waterdown, ON, and Phoenix Coyotes prospect led the OHL with a goals-against-average of 1.99 including a record 10 shutout victories posting a 30-9-0-2 record for the IceDogs.  Festarini, an 18-year-old from Oakville, ON, had a goals-against-average of 2.27 in 22 games for the IceDogs recording two shutout victories with a 15-6-0-0 record.  Also suiting up for the IceDogs in goal this year was Jaroslav Pavelka who played in seven games, and Mike Gallardi who played in two.

F.W. “Dinty” Moore Trophy (Best Rookie GAA): Daniel Altshuller, Oshawa Generals

Daniel Altshuller of the Oshawa Generals produced the best goals-against-average among OHL rookie netminders this season with a mark of 3.55.  He becomes the third member of the Generals to win the award following Ken Shepard in 1992-93 who posted a 3.48 goals-against-average, and Jeff Hackett in 1986-87 with a rookie mark of 3.04.

The trophy is named after F.W. “Dinty” Moore of Port Colborne, ON, who served as OHA President from 1942-45.  In order to qualify for this rookie award, a goaltender must play a minimum of 900 minutes.  Matej Machovsky became the first member of the Brampton Battalion to win the award with a mark of 2.90 last season.

Altshuller, a 17-year-old from Nepean, ON, is eligible for the 2012 NHL Entry Draft and was listed as the seventh rated goaltender by NHL Central Scouting in their midterm North American draft rankings.  He finished the regular season with an 11-16-2-1 record along with a .900 save percentage in 30 appearances.

The 2012 OHL Playoffs begin Thursday night with three Eastern Conference matchups including the IceDogs and the visiting Oshawa Generals.  Follow all of the action at