NOJHA-BCJHL Showcase set

By Brad Coccimiglio
The site has been selected, the coaches have been named and the rosters
are set, now it’s game on for the NOJHA-BCJHL All-star game. The site
for the game will be the Memorial Gardens in Sault Ste. Marie, home of
the Soo Thunderbirds.

The game will feature some of the best talent from the two Jr. A
leagues. The players participating in the game include NCAA, OHL and
eligible players. You can be sure that there will be a tremendous number
of scouts in the audience for the game.

The NOJHA squad will be led by the coaches of the league’s top 2 teams
as Rayside Balfour Sabrecats coach Ken MacKenzie and Soo Thunderbirds
coach Jim Capy will lead the charge.

The NOJHA roster is dominated by members of the Sabrecats and
Thunderbirds. In goal will be Frank Novello of the Soo and Espanola
Screaming Eagles starter Josh Siembida.

The defensive corps will include Dave Csumrik, Jason Michelutti and
Eric Simmons of Rayside as well as Jeff Cochrane, Seth Vinocur and Josh
Chase of the Thunderbirds.

Representing the NOJHA at forward will be Chris Shamess and Matt Shank
of the Sudbury Northern Wolves;Sean Spencer of the Sturgeon Falls Lynx;
Fred Coccimiglio, David Borelli, Ryan Corcoran and Josh Thompson of the
Thunderbirds;as well as Nevin Patterson, Justin Carre, Matt Barnhardt,
Joey Belanger and Rico Dicarlantonio of Rayside Balfour.

The alternates for the team include netminder Joey Biasucci of the
Thunderbirds, defenceman Todd Rayne of the Sudbury Northern Wolves and
centre Eric Paquette of the Iroquois Falls Jr. Eskis.

The co-coaches of the BCJHL team are Mike Vandekamp, Head Coach of the
Merritt Centennials, and Campbell Blair, Head Coach of the Victoria

The defencemen include Branden Hutchinson of Cowichan Valley, Brad
McFaul, of Chilliwack, Sam Miller of Langley, Jim Beckerley of Prince
George, Nathan Oystrick of South Surrey and Trevor McCall of Victoria.

The forwards will include Scott Vockeroth and Matt Greyeyes of Langley,
Chad Grobowski of Nanaimo, Mike Meech of Burnaby, Ryan Minnabarriet and
Dan Law of Powell River, Wes Reid of Trail, Rob Whidder of Penticton,
Jason Williamson of Vernon and Aaron Voros of Vistoria.

Also, between periods of the game, there will be a skills competition
amongst NOJHA rookies. The rookies invited to participate in the
competition are Sylvain Houle, Clinton Miller and David Frawley of
Sturgeon Falls; Chris Bain from Rayside Balfour; Logan Noble, Brent
Nault and Bobby Chaumont from Sudbury; Joey Biasucci, Jeff Whitfield and
Derek MacKay from the Thunderbirds; Matt Blanchet, Tyler Lawson, Jeff
Rainville and Fred Jensen will represent the Blind River Barons; Nick
Torrenson and Dan Goodwin will do the honours for Espanola while Steve
Hamel and David Tambeau will attend representing the Iroquois Falls Jr.

This is definitely going to be interesting to watch as many players in
the game are fighting for college scholarships while the rookies could
be looking at a higher draft position in June’s OHL draft.

The action gets underway at the Memorial Gardens with doors opening at
6:30. Game time is 7:00 on Tuesday, Feb. 6.