Bucs prevail 7-4 over the Steel

By Kevin Kasel

The Des Moines Buccaneers faced a hungry Chicago team looking to move ahead of the bucs tonight in the standings. Great goaltending on both sides kept the game scoreless until midway through the 1st when Alex Matieroukine called bank, gets the Bucs on the board, off the post and in the back of the net. A few minutes later, Matieroukine was digging for the puck along the boards, when he backhanded it to the middle and Chris Collins skated in all alone and beat Chicago goalie John Daigneau to give the Bucs the 2-0 lead. With about two minutes left, Keith Boyer extended the Bucs lead to 3-0. About 20 seconds later, Luke Irwin is 2/3 of the way to a Gordie Howe Hat Trick (all that is left is a fight) when he lights the lamp at the 18:32 mark to make it 4-0.

The second period turned to sloppy hockey for the Bucs. Chicago’s Kim Hirschovits is able to walk and backhanded the puck past Chris Gartman to make it 4-1 lead for Des Moines. Des Moines responded 22 seconds later with a goal from Tommy Kolar to retake a four-goal lead. At the 8:09 mark, Jeff Genovy added a power play tally to give the Bucs a 6-1 lead. Chicago got a late goal from Travis Morin to make it 6-2 heading into the locker rooms and the second intermission.

Most of the third period, the Bucs stayed in their defensive shell to protect the lead. With about four-minutes left, Chicago was able to crack the shell and cut the lead to 6-3. About a minute later, they are able to capitalize on the power play to make it interesting, making it a 6-4 Des Moines lead. With a little over 2-minutes to go, Chicago pulled their goalie and are able to sustain pressure, until Collins got the puck out of the zone and got the empty-netter to seal the game 7-4.

1st Period
Scoring: (DM) Matieroukine (Genovy, Irwin) 9:27 ES; (DM) Collins (Matieroukine) 12:09 ES; (DM) Boyer 18:12 ES; (DM) Irwin (Kolar) 18:32 ES.
Penalty: (CH) Gauthier 15:40 Minor, Roughing; (CH) Kautz 18:23 Minor, Cross Checking; (DM) Dingle 18:23 Minor, Slashing; (DM) Stoflet 18:49 Minor, Interference; (DM) Hutchins 20:00 Minor, Roughing.

2nd Period
Scoring: (CH) Hirschovits (Parez) 6:45 ES; (DM) Kolar (Johnson) 7:07 ES; (DM) Genovy 8:09 PP; (CH) Morin (Kautz, Anderson, N) 19:49 ES.
Penalty: (CH) Gauthier 0:16 Minor, High Sticking; (DM) Kotary 4:33 Minor, Hooking; (CH) Dwyer 7:44 Minor, Slashing; (CH) Flaig 9:31 Minor, Checking from Behind; (DM) Leach 12:27 Minor, Holding; (CH) Tharp 20:00 Minor, High Sticking.

3rd Period
Scoring: (CH) Smoleroff (Bader, Harrington) 16:02 ES; (CH) Richmond (Gauthier) 17:08 PP; (DM) Collins 19:41 ES-EN.
Penalty: (DM) Matieroukine 0:56 Minor, Checking from Behind; (CH) Richmond 5:17 Minor, Interference; (DM) Collins 16:51 Minor, Roughing.

Three Stars Selection:
1)IrwinDes Moines
2)KolarDes Moines
3)GenovyDes Moines

Power Play: DM 1 for 6 (0 SHGF); CH 1 for 5 (0 SHGF).
Goaltenders:(DM) Gartman (W) 31 Saves – 35 SOG, 60:00, Record: 26-16-3
(CH) Daigneau (L) 16 Saves – 22 SOG, 32:22, Record: 20-15-6; (CH) D’Alba (ND) 8 Saves – 8 SOG, 26:06, Record: 3-3-1
Referee:Travis SmithLinesmen:Jeff DuBay & John Sullivan.