Bucs snap Lincoln’s 16-game winning streak

By Kevin Kasel

Tonight’s game against the Lincoln Stars started off with the annual award ceremony. One award couldn’t be given out until the completion of the game, the Curt Hammer Award for team’s leading scorer. Both Chris Collins (25 G, 38 A) and Alex Matieroukine (37 G, 26 A) have a total of 63 points prior to tonight’s game. The Landmark Trophy (Fan Favorite Player) went to Chris Collins. The Bob McCorkle Award (Player who combines sportsmanship with outstanding ability) went to Weston Tardy.

The first period seemed to be penalty filled. 7-1/2 minutes into the period, goal-scoring machine Evan Stoflet found the back of the net on the power play to give the Bucs the 1-0 lead. Then with a minute and a half left in the period, Luke Irwin fired a shot from the point that deflected off a stick and went 5-hole on Philippe Lamoureux to give the Bucs the 2-0 lead heading to the locker room.

The second period had it share of penalties as well. The period is a defensive battle, until late in the second, Andrew Leach goes off for hooking and Lincoln appeared to score a goal. But it was obviously tossed into the net with the Lincoln player’s hand and the goal was waved off. Approximately 30 seconds later, Chris Collins grabbed a pass out of mid air and came in all alone on Lamoureux and gives the Bucs the 3-0 lead on the short-handed tally.

Third period starts off with Lincoln putting on the pressure early and it pays off when a puck squirts free to the slot where Matt Wavra spins and gets the goal to make it 3-1, Des Moines. For most of the period, Des Moines played the defensive shell protecting the lead. It worked until the 16:25 mark when David Backes shot that was going over the net, is deflected by Chris Gartman’s glove and goes in, to make it a one-goal game. It remained a game, until Mike Fournier made things difficult for the Stars to keep their winning streak alive, when at the 17:50 he goes off for tripping. Lincoln pulled their goalie, but Gartman answers the call and the Bucs win, 3-2, snapping Lincoln’s 16-game winning streak. This preserves Des Moines’ 19-game winning streak record for yet another season (November 1, 1998, 6-4 win at Twin Cities to January 6, 1999 10-0 win at North Iowa).

After the game, Chris Collins with his 2nd period short-handed, game-winning goal won the Curt Hammer Award (26 G, 38 A for 64 points). Jeff “M.C.” Hammer was on hand to present Collins the award. If the Bucs continue to play like they did tonight, they stand a good chance in the Clark Cup play-offs, which start this week vs. Green Bay.

Lincoln Stars @ Des Moines Buccaneers

1st Period
Scoring: (DM) Stoflet (Hutchins) 7:38 PP; (DM) Irwin (Kolar) 18:30 ES.
Penalty: (DM) Matieroukine 4:09 Minor, Hooking; (LI) Backes 7:17 Minor, Elbowing; (LI) Snowden 8:10 Minor, Delay of Game; (DM) Genovy 8:10 Minor, Delay of Game;(LI) Dagel 8:51 Minor, Roughing; (DM) Boyer 8:51 Minor, High Sticking; (LI) Swanson 9:36 Minor, Boarding; (LI) Swanson 13:08 Minor, Unsportsmanlike Conduct; (LI) Snowden 13:08 Major, Fighting; (DM) Dingle 13:08 Major, Fighting; (LI) Backes 16:03 Minor, Cross Checking.

2nd Period
Scoring: (DM) Collins 18:58 SH.
Penalty: (DM) Stoflet 2:04 Minor, Holding; (LI) Eickman 2:57 Minor, Hooking; (LI) Swanson 8:58 Minor, Holding; (LI) Snowden 11:20 Misconduct; (DM) Tardy 15:13 Minor, Cross Checking; (DM) Leach 18:11 Minor, Hooking; (DM) Kotary 18:11 Minor, Delay of Game; (LI) Van Dyke 18:11 Minor, Delay of Game.

3rd Period
Scoring: (LI) Wavra (Fournier) 0:18 ES; (LI) Backes (Erickson, M, Wavra) 16:25 ES.
Penalty: (DM) Chambers 13:34 Minor, Tripping; (LI) Fournier 17:50 Minor, Tripping; (LI) Fournier 20:00 Misconduct.

Three Stars Selection:
1)StofletDes Moines

2)IrwinDes Moines

3)CollinsDes Moines

Power Play: DM 1 for 7 (1 SHGF); LI 0 for 5 (0 SHGF).
Goaltenders:(DM) Gartman (W) 33 Saves – 35 SOG, 60:00, Record: 27-16-3
(LI) Lamoureux (L) 17 Saves – 20 SOG, 59:26, Record: 20-8-1
Referee:Derek BerkebileLinesmen:Chad Evers & Jeff DuBay.