Brown Named Scholastic Player of the Year

By Brad Coccimiglio

Toronto–On Wednesday Dustin Brown of the Guelph Storm was named the recipient of the Bobby Smith Trophy as the Ontario Hockey League’s Scholastic Player of the Year. Brown is the first player to win the award
consecutively since former Cornwall Royal Nathan LaFayette turned the trick in 1990-91 and 1991-92.

The 17-year-old Brown was enrolled at Our Lady of Lourdes High School and, in his 1st semester, maintained a 75% average in 3 grade 11 courses. In semester 2, Brown is again enrolled in 3 grade 11 courses and holds an 82% average. Brown is also enrolled in courses from his home school in Ithica, New York in order to meet requirements to achieve both a
Canadian and American high school diploma.

Brown led the Storm with 41 goals and finished the season with 73 points in 63 games. Brown is highly rated for the 2003 NHL Entry Draft.

The selection panel for the trophy includes a committee of OHL Educational Consultants which is headed by chairperson Donna Rawbone, who is the Educational Consultant for the Guelph Storm. Rawbone
assesses the academic achievements of each nominee while NHL Central Scouting Director Frank Bonello evaluates the hockey ability of each nominee.

The rest of the OHL’s Scholastic Team is as follows:

Barrie: Stephen Morris
Belleville: Matt Stajan*
Brampton: Jay McClement
Erie: Brian Lee*
Guelph: Dustin Brown*
Kingston: Brandon McBride
Kitchener: Andre Benoit
London: Logan Hunter
Mississauga: Andrew Smale
North Bay: Craig Foster
Oshawa: Mike Sellan*
Ottawa: Matthew Albiani
Owen Sound: Justin Day
Peterborough: Ryan Card*
Plymouth: James Winiewski
Sarnia: Rob Gherson
Sault Ste. Marie: Brett Trudell
Sudbury: Zac Stortini
Toronto: Andy Chiodo
Windsor: Ryan Donally

* = repeat member of the OHL Scholastic Team