O’Sullivan Named Rookie of the Year

By pbadmin

Toronto–The Ontario Hockey League announced today that Mississauga’s Patrick O’Sulliavn is the Emms Family Award winner as Rookie of the Year.

O’Sullivan led all rookies in scoring as well as leading the IceDogs in scoring, with 34 goals and 92 points in 68 games. O’Sullivan was the 1st overall pick in the 2001 Priority Selection and also competed in the 2002 Hershey Cup CHL All-Star series in January.

O’Sullivan recoreded points in 51 games including four 4 point games and a 5 point game against Brampton in early March. He also posted 8 multiple point games. He posted his 1st career hat trick March 8th against Ottawa.

Nathan Horton of Oshawa and Corey Perry of London finished 2nd and 3rd respectively in the voting.

The All-Rookie teams were as follows:

1st Team

Centre–Nathan Horton (Oshawa)
Left Wing–Tim Sestito (Plymouth)
Right Wing–Corey Perry (London)
Defence–Fedor Tjutin (Guelph)
Defence–Ryan Hastings (Sudbury)
Goaltender–Jason Bacashihua (Plymouth)

2nd Team

Centre–Patrick O’Sullivan (Mississauga)
Left Wing–Andrei Mikhnov (Sudbury)
Right Wing–Petr Kanko (Kitchener)
Defence–Karol Sloboda (Ottawa)
Defence–Frank Rediker (Windsor)
Goaltender–Chris Houle (London)