Marty Sertich wins 2005 Hobey Baker award

By DJ Powers

In a ceremony at Nationwide Arena in Columbus on Friday, Colorado College junior Marty Sertich was named the winner of the 2005 Hobey Baker Award. This marks the 25th anniversary of the prestigious award, given annually to Men’s Division I Ice Hockey’s top player.

Sertich was instrumental in leading the Colorado College Tigers to not only a share of the MacNaughton Cup as WCHA Champions, but also to this year’s Frozen Four. He led the nation in both points (64) and points per game (1.52) coming into the final weekend. Sertich also ranked second in the nation in goals (27) and assists (37). He along with linemate and fellow Hobey Baker finalist, junior Brett Sterling (ATL) made up the nation’s most explosive offensive duo.

Sertich’s outstanding season earned him many honors throughout the year including WCHA Player of the Year. On Thursday, he was named to the CCM All-American First West Team along with teammates Sterling, senior defenseman Mark Stuart (BOS) and senior goaltender Curtis McElhinney (CGY).

“I want to thank the Hobey Baker committee for selecting me. It’s quite an honor,” Sertich said during his acceptance speech. “It’s an honor to be nominated with Brett (Sterling) and David (McKee). It’s been an unbelievable ride and I wish that we were still playing but it was fun just making it this year.”

Prior to the awarding of the Hobey Baker Award was the presentation of the Hockey Humanitarian Award. The award recognizes “College hockey’s finest citizen” for performances not only on the ice but also the classroom and community as well. Boston College senior defenseman Sarah Carlson, a Women’s Hockey East All-Conference First Team selection, was the 2005 recipient of the award. This year marks the tenth anniversary of the award. Former University of Michigan forward Blake Sloan was the only collegiate player to go on to the NHL that has won this award. Sloan won the award in 1997.

Copyright 2005 Hockey’s Future. Do not duplicate without permission of the editorial staff.