ECHL: Saviano is Player of the Week

By pbadmin

PRINCETON, N.J. – Steve Saviano of the Florida Everblades is the In Glas Co ECHL Player of the Week for Jan. 2-8, 2006.

The 24-year-old had 10 points (4g-6a) to help Florida go 3-0-0, improving to 22-8-2 and remaining in first place in the South Division.

Saviano ECHL Player of the Week

Reassigned to the Everblades from Lowell of the American Hockey League on Jan. 3, Saviano had four points (1g-3a) in a 6-1 win at Pensacola and had two points (1g-1a) in a 5-4 win against Columbia on Jan. 6. He extended his assist streak to four games (7a) and his scoring streak to five games (6g-7a) with four points (2g-2a) in a 6-3 win against Pensacola on Jan. 7.

Under contract to Lowell, the 5-foot-8 and 180-pound forward has 24 points (9g-15a) in 12 games with the Everblades and three points (2g-1a) in 16 games with the Lock Monsters.

In his first professional season in 2004-05, Saviano had 52 points (14g-38a) in 58 regular season and 18 points (4g-14a) in 17 Kelly Cup Playoff games for the Everblades while also picking up an assist in six games with Lowell.

The native of Reading, Mass. played four years at the University of New Hampshire from 2000-04 and had 117 points (50g-67a) in 139 games. He was selected as the team’s Most Valuable Player in 2003-04 and was also named Hockey East Player of the Year after scoring 49 points (27g-22a) in 41 games.

On behalf of Steve Saviano, a case of pucks will be donated to an Estero, Florida area youth hockey organization by In Glas Co, the exclusive puck supplier for the ECHL.

In Glas Co has donated over 13,500 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities since it began sponsoring the award in 2000-01. In Glas Co also donated all of the limited-edition pucks that were used during the opening weekend and auctioned off for hurricane relief.

Runners Up: Joe Talbot, Alaska (4gp-5g-5a-10pts) and Shawn Mather, Fresno (3gp-4g-2a-6pts).

Also Nominated: Joel Perrault (Augusta), Dusty Jamieson (Charlotte), Rory McMahon (Grenville), Milan Gajic (Gwinnett), Shawn Limpright (Las Vegas), Bryson Busniuk (Pensacola), Chris Bala (Reading), Jesse Bennefield (San Diego), Evan Schwabe (South Carolina), Steve Slonina (Stockton), Adam Keefe (Toledo), Chris Pittman (Trenton), Trevor Baker (Utah), and Ryan Wade (Victoria).