Four CCHA Teams Qualify for NCAA Tournament

By pbadmin

Michigan State earns No. 1 seed in Albany, N.Y.

CCHA Press Release

Farmington Hills, Mich. – The CCHA has placed four teams in the 2006 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

Newly crowned Mason Cup champion Michigan State (24-11-8) is the No. 1 seed at the East Regional in Albany, N.Y., and will face New Hampshire (20-12-2) of Hockey East on Saturday, March 25 at noon (EST).

The regular-season champion Miami RedHawks (26-8-4), making their fourth NCAA Tournament appearance, are headed to Worcester, Mass., to meet Boston College (23-12-3) of Hockey East on Friday, March 24 at 7 p.m (EST) in the Northeast Regional.

The Michigan Wolverines (21-14-5), making their 16th consecutive tournament appearance, will travel to Grand Forks, N.D., to face the host North Dakota Fighting Sioux (27-15-1) at the West Regional on Friday, March 24 at 9 p.m. (EST).

The Nebraska-Omaha Mavericks (20-14-6) will make their NCAA Tournament debut by joining Miami at the Northeast Regional for a contest against Boston University (25-9-4) of Hockey East on Friday, March 24 at 4 p.m. (EST).

This marks the second time that there have been four CCHA entries in the national tournament. Michigan, Michigan State, Northern Michigan and Ohio State all qualified in 1999. The conference record was set in 2004 when five teams (Miami, Michigan, Michigan State, Notre Dame and Ohio State all advanced.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of six conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

The University of Wisconsin, Madison, was the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, Boston University, and Michigan State University.

The dates, sites, times and pairings of this year’s championship are as follows:

West Regional, March 24-25 Ralph Engelstad Arena, Grand Forks, North Dakota

March 24, 6:30 p.m. Eastern time No. 1 Minnesota (27-8-5) vs. No. 4 Holy Cross (26-9-2)

March 24, 9:30 p.m. Eastern time No. 2 North Dakota (27-15-1) vs. No. 3 Michigan (21-14-5)

March 25, 9 p.m. Eastern time West Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 24-25 DCU Center, Worcester, Massachusetts

March 24, 4 p.m. Eastern time No. 1 Boston U. (25-9-4) vs. No. 4 Nebraska-Omaha (20-14-6)

March 24, 7 p.m. Eastern time No. 2 Miami (Ohio) (26-8-4) vs. No. 3 Boston College (23-12-3)

March 25, 6 p.m. Eastern time Northeast Regional Championship

East Regional, March 25-26 Pepsi Arena, Albany, New York

March 25, 3 p.m. Eastern time No. 2 Harvard (21-11-2) vs. No. 3 Maine (26-11-2)

March 26, 2 p.m. Eastern time East Regional Championship

Midwest Regional, March 25-26 Resch Center, Green Bay, Wisconsin

March 25, 2:30 p.m. Eastern time No. 1 Wisconsin (26-10-3) vs. No. 4 Bemidji State (20-13-3)

March 25, 5:30 p.m. Eastern time No. 2 Cornell (20-8-4) vs. No. 3 Colorado College (24-15-2)

March 26, 5 p.m. Eastern time Midwest Regional Championship

Men’s Frozen Four, April 6 and 8 Bradley Center, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

April 6, 3 and 8 p.m. Eastern time (order of games TBD)

Northeast Regional Champion vs. West Regional Champion

East Regional Champion vs. Midwest Regional Champion

April 8, 7 p.m. Eastern time National Championship

The following conferences and teams received automatic qualification: Atlantic Hockey Association – Holy Cross Central Collegiate Hockey Association – Michigan State College Hockey America – Bemidji State Eastern College Athletic Conference Hockey League – Harvard Hockey East Association – Boston University Western Collegiate Hockey Association – North Dakota

ESPN, Inc. will air all 15 tournament games live. ESPN will produce the 12 regional games and syndicate each game for interested local cable systems, regional sports networks and selected over-the-air stations. In addition, ESPNU will air more than 20 hours of coverage over the weekend. The 12 regional games will not air on ESPN or ESPN2 but rather an “ESPN Syndication” television platform or ESPNU, which is available on DirecTV channel 609.

ESPN2 will broadcast the semifinal games. ESPN will televise the national championship game. For a complete clearance list, log onto, click broadcast info, then click TV schedule.

For more information about the championship, log on to