QMJHL Golden Puck Awards Gala a smashing success

By pbadmin

BOUCHERVILLE, Wednesday, April 5, 2006 (QMJHL) – The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League presented its 11th annual Golden Puck Awards Gala tonight at the Delta Hotel in downtown Montreal. The awards gala, which honors players, coaches and managers of the 2005-06 season, was hosted by Christian Tétreault and Pierre Pagé.

“It’s always nice to find ourselves reunited at this event each year to underline the achievements of our hockey community. We can feel very proud of the quality individuals who represent the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of our nominees,” declared the Commissioner, Gilles Courteau.

Ondrej Pavelec and Alexander Radulov dominated the limelight each taking home three awards. Pavelec, the Screaming Eagles rookie goaltender, was awarded the Jacques-Plante Trophy (best goals-against-average), as well as the Raymond-Lagacé (defensive rookie) and the RDS (rookie of the year) trophies. Furthermore, he was named to the all-rookie team and was selected as a QMJHL first team All-Star. Alexandre Radulov, the Quebec Remparts right winger, received the Jean-Béliveau Trophy (top scorer), the Telus Trophy (offensive player of the year) and the Michel-Brière Trophy awarded to the League’s most valuable player. Moreover, Radulov was named to the League’s All-Star first team.

Moncton Wildcats defenseman Keith Yandle was honored with the Émile-Bouchard Trophy (best defenseman) and the Telus Trophy (defensive player of the year), while Angelo Esposito of the Quebec Remparts inherited the Michel-Bergeron Trophy awarded to the offensive rookie of the year. Derick Brassard of the Drummodville Voltigeurs grabbed the Michael-Bossy Trophy (best prospect). David Brine of the Halifax Mooseheads won the Guy-Carbonneau Trophy (defensive forward) and Olivier Magnan of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies received the Kewin-Lowe Trophy (defensive defenseman).

Moreover, Pierre-Marc Guilbault of the Shawinigan Cataractes was awarded the Marcel-Robert Trophy (scholastic player of the year), David Desharnais of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens walked away with the Frank-J.-Selke Trophy (gentleman) and Joey Ryan of the Quebec Remparts with the humanitarian award.

In the front office, Ted Nolan of the Moncton Wildcats was awarded the Maurice-Filion Trophy (General Manager of the Year), André Tourigny of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies inherited coach of the year honors (Ron-Lapointe Trophy) and Clément Jodoin of the Lewiston MAINEiacs brought home the Paul-Dumont Trophy as the League’s top personality.

André Gosselin and Stéphane Rhéaume of the Drummondville Voltigeurs won the Jean-Sawyer Trophy as the top marketing duo and Éric Verrier received the John-Horman award as the top administrator for the second consecutive year.

On a team front, the Moncton Wildcats won the Marcel-Robert (best defensive average) and the Jean-Rougeau (regular season champions) trophies, while the Quebec Remparts were awarded the Luc-Robitaille Trophy for the League’s best offensive output.

Finally, the QMJHL announced the All-Rookie team, the first team and the second team All-Stars:

All Rookie Team: Goaltender Ondrej Pavelec of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, defensemen Ivan Vishnevskiy of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies and Andrew Bodnarchuck of the Halifax Mooseheads, left-winger Félix Schutz of the Saint John Sea Dogs, center Angelo Esposito of the Quebec Remparts and right winger Claude Giroux of the Gatineau Olympiques.

Second Team All-Star: Goaltender Josh Tordjman of the Moncton Wildcats, defensemen Michal Sersen of the Quebec Remparts and Frédéric St-Denis of the Drummondville Voltigeurs, left winger Alex Bourret of the Shawinigan Cataractes, center David Desharnais and right winger Stanislav Lascek of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens.

First Team All-Stars: Ondrej Pavelec of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, defensemen Kristopher Letang of the Val-d’Or Foreurs and Keith Yandle of the Moncton Wildcats as well as left winger Maxime Boisclair of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens, center Derick Brassard of the Drummondville Voltigeurs and right winger Alexander Radulov of the Quebec Remparts.

Source: QMJHL – Karl Jahnke