Wolski Named Most Sportsmanlike Player

By pbadmin

OHL Press Release

The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Wojtek Wolski of the Brampton Battalion won the William Hanley Trophy as the OHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player for the 2005-2006 season. Wolski was a first round NHL draft pick of the Colorado Avalanche, in 2004.

Wolski led the Battalion with 47 goals and 81 assists for 128 points, in 56 games this season all of which are team records. He also posted a +21 rating this season while totaling only 46 minutes in penalties. Wolski was named the OHL Player of the Month for four straight months this season winning the award from December through March. He was also the MVP for the Eastern Conference All-Stars at this year’s OHL All-Star Classic, in Belleville.

The 20 year-old native of Zabrze, Poland and Mississauga resident has amassed 130 goals, 198 assists and 328 points during his four year career with Brampton. These numbers have rewritten the Battalion record book as Wolski now owns the team career record for goals, assists, and points.

The William Hanley Trophy is awarded each year based on selection by the member teams of the Ontario Hockey League. The trophy is presented by the OHL to commemorate William Hanley, former Secretary-Manager of the Ontario Hockey Association for over 25 years.

In a first round of balloting, teams vote for the top player, within their own conference. The top three nominees from both the Eastern and Western conferences are declared as finalists. A second round of voting is then conducted on a league wide basis where teams vote for any of the six finalists. At no time during the voting can a team vote for their own candidate. Players receive five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

Wolski received 67 points in the voting while Cal O’Reilly of the Windsor Spitfires was runner-up with 44 points and Cory Emmerton of the Kingston Frontenacs was third with 28 points.

Wolski joins some elite company with former winners of the William Hanley Trophy including last year’s recipient Jeff Carter, as well as Wayne Gretzky, Sault Ste. Marie, Kirk Muller, Guelph, Andrew Cassels, Ottawa, Jason Allison, London and Brad Boyes, Erie.