Callahan Named Top Overage Player

By pbadmin

OHL Press Release

The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Ryan Callahan of the Guelph Storm is the winner of the Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy as the OHL’s Top Overage Player for the 2005-06 season.

In 62 games with the Storm, Callahan recorded 52 goals and 32 assists for a total of 84 points. On seven occassions this year he had three-point games and led the Storm with an impressive + 29 rating. His 52 goals helped him to become the all-time leading scorer in Guelph Storm history with 130 career regular season goals. Callahan, a native of Rochester, New York was drafted in the 4th round by the New York Rangers, in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.

The Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the top overage player of the year as selected by OHL general managers. Teams were not permitted to vote for players from their own hockey club. Players received five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote. Callahan received 67 total votes, Mike Angelidis of the Owen Sound Attack was the runner-up with 48 total votes, and Adam Dennis of the London Knights finished third with 36 total votes.

The Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy was donated by the trainers of the Ontario Hockey League, in memory of the late Leo Lalonde, former Chief Scout of OHL Central Scouting. Leo Lalonde was also formerly the Chief Scout for the Belleville Bulls as well as a scout for the Peterborough Petes.

Former winners of the trophy include Iain Fraser (Oshawa, 1989-90), Zac Bierk (Peterborough, 1996-97) and Bill Bowler (Windsor, 1994-95). Andre Benoit of the Kitchener Rangers was last year’s recipient of the Leo Lalonde Trophy.