OHL Announces Sekera as Defenseman of the Year

By pbadmin

OHL Press Release

The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Owen Sound Attack defenceman Andrej Sekera is the winner of the Max Kaminsky Trophy as the OHL’s most outstanding defenceman for the 2005-06 season.

Sekera finished the season with 21 goals, 34 assists and 55 points, in 51 games during the regular season. The 19-year-old native of Slovakia recorded 13 multiple-point games including back to back hat-tricks against the Plymouth Whalers on October 30th and the Barrie Colts on November 2nd.

Sekera, a 3rd round draft choice of the Buffalo Sabres, was one of four Ontario Hockey League stars that were members of Team Slovakia at the World Junior Championships in Vancouver, British Columbia this past winter. He scored 2 goals and 5 points in 6 games during the tournament.

The Max Kaminsky Trophy is awarded each year to the Most Outstanding Defenceman as selected by OHL general managers. Teams were not permitted to vote for their own nominee. Players received five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote. Sekera received 64 points in the voting, while runner-up Marc Staal of the Sudbury Wolves received 56 points and Ryan Parent of the Guelph Storm was third with 28 points.

Last year’s winner of the Max Kaminsky Trophy as the OHL’s Most Outstanding Defenceman was Danny Syvret of the London Knights. Other previous winners of the Max Kaminsky Trophy include Denis Potvin (Ottawa 1971-72 and 1972-73), Al MacInnis (Kitchener 1982-83), Chris Pronger (Peterborough 1992-93) and Bryan Berard (Detroit 1994-95 and 1995-96).

The award is named in recognition of Max Kaminsky, who enjoyed a 10-year professional playing career that included four years in the NHL with Ottawa, Boston, and Montreal. After he retired from playing, Kaminsky enjoyed a 15-year coaching career that was capped by winning the Memorial Cup with the St. Catherine’s Teepees in 1960.