Burnaby Express crowned Canadian Jr. A champs

By pbadmin

CJAHL Press Release

BRAMPTON, ON – The Burnaby Express (BCHL) captured the 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup Championship with a 8-2 victory over the Yorkton Terriers (SJHL). Sunday’s final was broadcast on Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster TSN/RDS and was played at the Powerade Centre in Brampton, ON

Kyle Turris, the 16-year old from New Westminster, BC led the way for Burnaby tallying 3 goals and 1 assist. Turris finished the tournament with seven goals, six assists and 13 points to lead all scorers. Mark Soares finished the night with three points while Keith Seabrook, younger brother of current National Team Member Brent Seabrook, led all skaters with a +5 rating. Bryce Luker stopped 27 shots for his fourth victory of the tournament

The two teams took very different paths to reach Sunday’s final. The Burnaby express cruised through round robin play with a 3-1 record while the Yorkton Terriers posted a 1-3 record and barely made it to Saturday’s semi-final. Ironically, it was Burnaby’s victory over l’Action de Joliette in the final game of round robin play that helped Yorkton clinch the final playoff spot.

Both teams were coming off hard fought victories in Saturday’s semi-finals. The Burnaby Express needed some late heroics from Kyle Turris and Mark Soares as well as overtime to down the Fort William North Stars 3-2. Yorkton on the other hand struck twice in the first five minutes on goals by Kris Korchinski and hung on for a 2-1 victory over the host Streetsville Derbys.

The Championship is a first for the Burnaby Express hockey club and marks the fourth time that a team from the BCHL has captured the RBC Royal Bank Cup and the tenth time they have captured Canada’s National Junior A Championship. The last team from the BCHL to bring home the Championship was the Vernon Vipers who were crowned RBC Royal Bank Cup Champions in 1999.

Shop for Toronto Maple Leafs CDsDVDs at Shop.NHL.com