NCAA Awards and Frozen Four Skills Competition

By DJ Powers

In addition to the Frozen Four games and the Hobey Baker Award ceremony, many other college hockey events featuring NHL prospects are making news in St. Louis this weekend, including the Skills Challenge. Below are some of the highlights.

AHCA/RBK announces 2006-07 Men’s D-I All-American Teams

On Friday, the AHCA/RBK Men’s Ice Hockey All-American Teams were announced. The 24 players named include 17 NHL draftees plus some recently-signed players as well.

All-American East First Team:

G John Curry – senior, Boston University
D Drew Bagnall (FLA) – senior, St. Lawrence University
D Reid Cashman (TOR) – senior, Quinnipiac University
F/D Brian Boyle (LA) – senior, Boston College
F David Jones (COL) – junior, Dartmouth College
F Michel Leveille – senior, University of Maine

All-American West First Team:

G David Brown (PIT) – senior, University of Notre Dame
D Alex Goligoski (PIT) – junior, University of Minnesota
D Jack Johnson (LA) – sophomore, University of Michigan
F Ryan Duncan – sophomore, University of North Dakota
F T.J. Hensick (COL) – senior, University of Michigan
F Jonathan Toews (CHI) – sophomore, University of North Dakota

All-American East Second Team:

G Jon Quick (LA) – sophomore, University of Massachusetts
D Matt Gilroy – sophomore, Boston University
D Sean Sullivan (PHX) – senior, Boston University
F Nick Dodge (CAR) – junior, Clarkson University
F Eric Ehn – junior, Air Force Academy
F Trevor Smith (NYI) – sophomore, University of New Hampshire

All-American West Second Team:

G Bobby Goepfert (PIT) – senior, St. Cloud State University
D Taylor Chorney (EDM) – sophomore, University of North Dakota
D Matt Hunwick (BOS) – senior, University of Michigan
F Nathan Davis (CHI) – junior, Miami University
F Scott Parse (LA) – senior, University of Nebraska-Omaha
F Mike Santorelli (NSH) – junior, Northern Michigan University

St. Cloud State’s Nodl named HCA National D-I Rookie of the Year

St. Cloud State freshman and Philadelphia Flyers prospect Andreas Nodl has been named the Hockey Commissioners Association’s National D-I Rookie of the Year. The Vienna, Austria native who was also named the WCHA Rookie of the Year, was impressive in his collegiate debut year, amassing 46 points (18 goals, 28 assists). His 46 points shattered St. Cloud State’s rookie scoring record previously held by current New York Ranger Matt Cullen (41 points).

Nodl beat out a stellar rookie field that included Western Michigan’s Mark Letestu (PIT), Maine’s Teddy Purcell and Quinnipiac’s Brandon Wong.

Cornell’s McCutcheon wins hardest shot and accuracy events in the Pontiac Skills Challenge

Colorado Avalanche prospect Mark McCutcheon wowed the large crowd at the Scottrade Center on Friday night when he won two events in the second annual Pontiac Skills Challenge. He won the hardest shot competition with a slapshot that was clocked at 96 mph. McCutcheon also won the accuracy event, hitting all four targets on eight shots. The Pittsford, NY native was a member of the East squad coached by NHL legend Al MacInnis.

McCutcheon was one of seven NHL prospects participating in the Skills Challenge this year. He was joined on the East Team by Dartmouth’s Tanner Glass (FLA), Clarkson’s Mike Sullivan (LA), and Sacred Heart’s Jason Smith (NJ). The West Team featured Michigan’s T.J. Hensick (COL), Miami’s Marty Guerin (LA) and Notre Dame’s David Brown (PIT).

Notre Dame’s Brown named winner of the inaugural Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for Men’s Ice Hockey

Senior goaltender and Pittsburgh Penguins prospect David Brown has been named the first recipient of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for Men’s Ice Hockey. The award is given to the senior student-athlete who best exemplifies character both on and off the ice and in the community. Brown led Notre Dame to win both the CCHA’s Regular Season and Mason Cup Championships. Their season ended with a 2-1 loss to Michigan State in the Midwest Regional of the NCAA Tournament.

Brown was also one of two drafted NHL prospects named to the All-Senior All-America Teams.

All-Senior All-America First Team: Brown, Kirk MacDonald (RPI), Matt Anderson (UMass), Billy Devoney (Air Force) and Jeff Jakaitis (Lake Superior State).

All-Senior All-America Second Team: Michel Leveille (Maine), Nate Raduns (St. Cloud State), Ryan Mahrle (Western Michigan), Curtis Fraser (Alaska) and Edmonton Oilers prospect Glenn Fisher (Denver).

Copyright 2007 Hockey’s Future.  Do not reprint or otherwise duplicate without permission of the editorial staff.