Tavares wins Red Tilson Trophy as OHL’s Most Outstanding Player

By League Press Release

Toronto – The Ontario Hockey League announced today that John Tavares of the Oshawa Generals is the 2006-07 recipient of the Red Tilson Trophy as the OHL’s Most Outstanding Player, as selected by the media.

Tavares who led the Oshawa Generals in scoring with 72 goals and 62 assists for 134 points in 67 games this season, becomes the youngest ever recipient of the Red Tilson Trophy. Tavares’ 72 goals also broke Wayne Gretzky’s 29 year old record of 70 goals scored by a 16-year-old, which was set during the 1977-78 season.

The native of Oakville, Ontario recorded at least one point in 57 games this season and had 39 multiple-point games. He was also named the OHL Player of the Month for January and March of this season and represented the Eastern Conference All-Stars at this year’s OHL All-Star Classic, in Saginaw. At this stage in his OHL career, Tavares has accumulated 117 goals and 94 assists for 211 points during his two seasons with Oshawa.

The Red Tilson Trophy, the most prestigious individual award presented by the Ontario Hockey League, is awarded each year to the player that is voted the most outstanding during the regular season by OHL writers and broadcasters. Players received five points for a first place selection, three points for second place and one point for a third place selection.

Tavares received 74 points in the voting process, while runner-up Patrick Kane of the London Knights received 66 points. Bryan Little of the Barrie Colts finished third with 21 points. Tavares is now the Ontario Hockey League nominee for the CHL Player of the Year at the Canadian Hockey League awards.

Tavares becomes the fifth Oshawa General to win the Red Tilson Trophy, following Bob Attersley (1953), Rick Middleton (1973), Scott McCrory (1987) and Eric Lindros (1991). Other former winners of the Red Tilson Trophy include last year’s winner Wojtek Wolski of the Brampton Battalion, Frank Mahovlich (Toronto 1957), Stan Mikita (St. Catharines 1959), Mike Foligno (Sudbury, 1979), Doug Gilmour (Cornwall 1983), Jason Allison (1994) and Brad Boyes (2001 & 2002).

The trophy is named in honour of Albert "Red" Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II. Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.